Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – July 15, 1994, Vol. 12, Issue 15

FCER's Chiropractic Researcher of the Year

By Editorial Staff
PALM SPRINGS, California -- The Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research (FCER) presented Joanne Nyiendo, PhD, with its Research of the Year award June 10 during the International Conference on Spinal Manipulation (ICSM).

Dr. Nyiendo is the director of research and institutional advancement at Western States Chiropractic College in Portland, Oregon. She has been the director of research at WSCC since 1979. She has been the principal investigator of numerous studies, including:

  • Low back pain: practice activities and patient outcomes (begun Aug. 1992).


  • A retrospective study of cost, clinical and other characteristics of compensable low back injury claims in Oregon.


  • A study of the diagnostic utility of the McGill Pain Questionnaire and the Oswestry Disability Questionnaire.


  • A cooperative study of the incidence and characteristics of low back pain complaints at six chiropractic college teaching clinics.


  • A roentgenological evaluation of the functional mechanics of the lumbar spine.

In 1986 she received a fellowship from the World Health Organization to study the Swiss chiropractic assistantship program.

Dr. Nyiendo's PhD is in microbiology from Oregon State University. She has been the vice president of the Consortium for Chiropractic Research since 1993 and its treasurer since 1987. She is a reviewer for FCER grants and a CCE visitation team member since 1990.

Dr. Nyiendo is the editor of the Clinical Chiropractic Report, and is on the editorial board of the Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics. She has also been published in the Journal of Applied Microbiology, the American Journal of Medical Technology, Medical Care, Chiropractic Technique, and the Journal of Chiropractic Education.

She has worked in conjunction with notables of chiropractic research, including Scott Haldeman, Reed Phillips, Mitchell Haas, Robert Mootz, and Bill Meeker.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.