2251 CCA Receives Top Awards
Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – October 22, 1993, Vol. 11, Issue 22

CCA Receives Top Awards

By Editorial Staff
CCA Journal, the California Chiropractic Association's (CCA) monthly magazine, won top honors in ACA's annual chiropractic publication competition for "Best Volume Year," and earned second place awards for "Best Single Issue" and "Most Improved Journal." Inside CCA, a monthly newsletter, won "Best Volume Year," newsletter, and "Best Single Issue," newsletter.

CCA has also been elected to the Associations Advance America Honor Roll, sponsored by the Associations Advance America Award Program (ASAE). The program recognizes significant contributions by associations to society in such areas as education and community service. CCA was honored for its Helping Other People Eat (HOPE) day, a day-long program in which DCs exchange treatment for donations of food, personal hygiene items, and toys for the needy and homeless. The Claims Communicator, CCA's quarterly publication sent to insurance companies statewide, also made the ASAE honor roll.


Palmer Athletic Trainer Attends U.S. Olympic Festival

Lee Lundgren, athletic trainer for the Palmer Chiropractic Clinics' Dept. of Ancillary Procedures, traveled to San Antonio to be a part of the health care staff for the U.S. Olympic Festival July 16th-August 3rd. Ms. Lungren worked specifically with Team Handball for the first 10 days she was in San Antonio, and then moved on to Track and Field for the remainder of her stay. "The purpose of the Olympic Festival is to provide athletes with high level competition within the United States, as well as to prepare the athletes for the real Olympic experience." While at the Festival, Ms. Lundren met several medal-winning Olympians including Dave Johnson, a bronze medal decathalete at the 1992 Barcelona Games. Ms. Lundren said she hopes to continue training world-class athletes and plans to attend the Pan Am Games in 1995 and the Olympic Games in Atlanta in 1996.


PCC Presents Special Awards during Homecoming

Five DCs were honored with awards at the college's "Remembering the Future" homecoming this summer. Dr. Weldon Derifield, and his father, the late Dr. Romer Derifield, and Dr. Arlan W. Fuhr were recipients of the D.D. Palmer Scientific Award; and Dr. Fred P. Dehn, and Dr. Edward C. Stevens were named Fellows in the Palmer Academy of Chiropractic.

Dr. Weldon Derifield, a 1936 PCC graduate, and his father, Dr. Romer Derifield, developed the Derifield-Thompson leg check. Dr. Weldon Derifield has continued his research and in recent years with videofluoroscopic studies of the Derifield leg check.

Dr. Arlan Fuhr is a 1961 Logan College graduate. Co-founder and president of Activator Methods, Inc., Dr. Fuhr also serves on the postgraduate faculty for Palmer, Logan College, and Life Chiropractic College West (LCCW). Active in research, Dr. Fuhr has published many chiropractic papers, and received grants for his research from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Institute of Chiropractic Research (NICR).

Dr. Fred P. Dehn is a 1970 Palmer graduate. He has practiced in Sacramento, California for 22 years. He was named "Doctor of the Year" by the Sacramento Valley Chiropractic Society in 1992 and 1993. Currently he is president of that society.

Dr. Edward C. Stevens, a 1968 graduate of Palmer, is a member of the ACA, Nebraska Chiropractic Association, the Nebraska Chiropractic Physicians Association, and the Greater Omaha Chiropractic Association. He has served as president of the Palmer College of Chiropractic Nebraska Alumni Association for eight years.


Palmer Archivist Appointed to Palmer Mansion Director

Glenda Wiese, archivist at the David D. Palmer Health Sciences Library, was appointed Palmer Mansion director by Donald P. Kern, DC, PCC president. Ms. Wiese will be responsible for recommending policies for the Palmer Mansion, such as the schedule for renovations, and coordinating access to the mansion.

Ms. Wiese has been with the David D. Palmer Health Sciences Library since 1980. Last May, she was the recipient of the Medical Library Association's 1993 Murray Gottlieb prize for the best unpublished paper written by a health sciences librarian on the history of the health sciences.

Dynamic Chiropractic editorial staff members research, investigate and write articles for the publication on an ongoing basis. To contact the Editorial Department or submit an article of your own for consideration, email .

To report inappropriate ads, click here.